top of page
Welcome to The Downes
History of The Downes
Originally associated with Harvey’s Mining and Smelting Company, The Downes is renowned for its grand, yet tranquil setting. At the turn of the last century ‘The Downes’ was used as a convent for the Congregation of the Daughters of Liege. They remained in occupation until 2002.
The house was built in the Victorian era, in a Tudor gothic design and offers great character. It has many of its original features in place. The extensive grounds boast an orchard and kitchen garden which is currently under renovation.
May Day Procession of the Nuns in the grounds of The Downes and St Michaels Hospital in 1911.
bottom of page